04Issues & decisionsNorwich

Decisions and outcomes

What happened after the promise?

Follow promises into decisions, spending and results.

Spending decisions

2026-09-08 · Resolution23

Otterville pool: grant application and preliminary design

Carried

$60,000 · maximum delegated consulting authorization, not replacement construction budget

Consequence: CAO may award single-source preliminary design/cost work funded by Pool Reserve; no grant award or full replacement contract established.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes 09/08 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-09-08 · Event/reporting date 2026-09-08 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

  2. CAO 2026-29 — Otterville pool grant application full report

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-09-08 · Event/reporting date 2026-09-08 · 2026

    published staff report · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

2026-09-08 · Resolution15

Richardson Drain Improvement2026 construction award

Carried

$97,739 · tendered construction award amount

Consequence: Drainage assessments and overall engineering cost are distinct from the Township tax-funded share.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes 09/08 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-09-08 · Event/reporting date 2026-09-08 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

2026-08-11 · Resolution19

2025 year-end reserve transfers authorized

Carried

$499,211.25 · unaudited operating surplus directed to Road Construction Reserve

Consequence: Reserve transfers also cover service surpluses/deficits and asset sales; headline surplus is not every transfer.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes August 11, 2026 pp.12–15 resolutions 18, 19, 24; p.17 by-laws

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-08-11 · Event/reporting date 2026-08-11 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

  2. FS 2026-13 — 2025 yearend reserves and transfers pp.1–5

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-08-11 · Event/reporting date 2026-08-11 · 2025 yearend

    transfers approved August11; report says final closing entries remain · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

More spending decisions (17)

2026-08-11 · Resolution24

Burgess Street: Township funds additional catchbasins

Carried

$65,000 · upset reserve transfer authorization

Consequence: Developer pays subdivision stormwater pipe, outlet and separator; Township pays additional catchbasins, ditch/culvert removal and contribution to engineering.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes August 11, 2026 pp.12–15 resolutions 18, 19, 24; p.17 by-laws

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-08-11 · Event/reporting date 2026-08-11 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

  2. CAO 2026-23 — Burgess Street stormwater cost share pp.1,3–4

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-08-11 · Event/reporting date 2026-08-11 · 2026

    published staff report · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

2026-08-11 · Resolution18

Frain Drain2025 construction award

Carried

$202,143.20 · tendered construction award amount

Consequence: Drainage assessments and overall engineering cost are distinct from the Township tax-funded share.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes August 11, 2026 pp.12–15 resolutions 18, 19, 24; p.17 by-laws

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-08-11 · Event/reporting date 2026-08-11 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

  2. DR 2026-21 — Frain Drain tender results pp.1–3

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-08-11 · Event/reporting date 2026-08-11 · 2026

    published staff report · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

2026-07-14 · Resolution21

Road conversion: two awards and an unresolved funding balance

Carried

$1,837,191 · sum of the two approved award amounts; excludes estimated asphalt component

Consequence: Original estimate $1,797,160; staff forecast $1,922,046. Funding table leaves $197,710 to yearend recommendation.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes July 14, 2026 pp.10–11 resolution 21

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-07-14 · Event/reporting date 2026-07-14 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

  2. OP 2026-25 — Beaconsfield and Substation tender awards pp.1–5

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-07-14 · Event/reporting date 2026-07-14 · 2026

    published staff report · Primary record verified · Downloaded and extracted underlying primary PDF.

2026-06-16 · Resolution16

Simmons-Hopkins Drain2024 re-award construction award

Carried

$172,221.50 · tendered construction award amount

Consequence: Drainage assessments and overall engineering cost are distinct from the Township tax-funded share.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes 06/16 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-06-16 · Event/reporting date 2026-06-16 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

2026-05-26 · Resolution9; OP 2026-19; PW-2026-02

Brock Street reconstruction awarded to Navacon

Carried

Consequence: Council authorized the agreement and use of development charges for Brock Street in place of other roads identified in the 2024 study.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes — 2026-05-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-05-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable.

  2. OP 2026-19 — Brock Street reconstruction tender and financing pp.2–4; bid table p2 and Township costs/funding table p3

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-05-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-26 · 2026

    staff report supporting adopted resolution9 · Primary record verified · Full primary PDF downloaded and text extracted. Financial table p3 visually checked. Whole tender includes Township, County and private-development shares; Township-share estimates are net of HST rebate. Report contains Navicon spelling in prose; recommendation, bid table and adopted minutes name Navacon.

2026-05-26 · Resolution 12

Council directs a 35% industrial/commercial development-charge reduction

Carried

Consequence: Staff were directed to bring an amending by-law. This resolution is direction to prepare the change, not evidence of the by-law’s later enactment.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes — 2026-05-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-05-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable.

2026-05-26 · Resolution 13

Communications staffing and newsletter proposal defeated

Lost

$20,000 · Proposed additional communications transfer only; does not include staff-contract cost and was not approved.

Consequence: The package proposed an 18-month communications coordinator/executive assistant contract and up to $20,000 for communications activities including a pre-election print newsletter, funded from the Modernization Reserve. The package was defeated.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes — 2026-05-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-05-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable.

2026-04-14 · Resolution17

Vermeersch Branch (Palmer Drain) construction award

Carried

$37,403.98 · tendered construction award amount

Consequence: Drainage assessments and overall engineering cost are distinct from the Township tax-funded share.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes 04/14 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-04-14 · Event/reporting date 2026-04-14 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

2026-03-10 · Resolution25; By-law16-2026

2026 operating budget adopted

Carried

$12,438,600 · gross annual operating budget

2 source records
  1. Council minutes 03/10 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-03-10 · Event/reporting date 2026-03-10 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Official URL filename says March 24; document title/index identify March 10.

  2. 2026 Final Operating Budget — Schedule A PDF pages 2–36

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-03-10 · Event/reporting date 2026-03-10 · 2026; 2025 comparatives

    adopted By-law 16-2026 · Primary record verified · 2025 actual column is budget-book comparative, not an audit opinion.

2026-02-26 · Resolution8

Traffic-calming pilot receives $50,000

Carried

$50,000 · Operating project authorization from Contingency Reserve; not payment.

Consequence: Approved for the 2026 operating budget following traffic-safety open houses.

Open the source record
  1. Budget - Operating minutes — 2026-02-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable. PDF has7 pages, with printed page numbers skipping4 and a rotated/scanned page; traffic-calming resolution8 is PDFp6/printedp7. Do not infer missing text.

2026-02-26 · Resolution3

Staff-benefit enhancement included in operating budget

Carried

$38,900 · 2026 operating budget enhancement; not actual spending.

Consequence: Staff-benefit enhancement added to the 2026 operating budget.

Open the source record
  1. Budget - Operating minutes — 2026-02-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable. PDF has7 pages, with printed page numbers skipping4 and a rotated/scanned page; traffic-calming resolution8 is PDFp6/printedp7. Do not infer missing text.

2026-02-26 · Resolution4

Public Works summer-student funding approved

Carried

$16,000 · 2026 operating budget enhancement; not actual spending.

Consequence: Summer-student funding added to the 2026 operating budget.

Open the source record
  1. Budget - Operating minutes — 2026-02-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable. PDF has7 pages, with printed page numbers skipping4 and a rotated/scanned page; traffic-calming resolution8 is PDFp6/printedp7. Do not infer missing text.

2026-02-26 · Special meeting Resolution2; BB 2026-05

Conditional permit authorized for Quaker Street industrial building

Carried

Consequence: Authorized an agreement for foundation, structural frame and envelope of a proposed three-storey industrial building of approximately 10,759.54 m² at 345708 Quaker Street.

Open the source record
  1. Special Meeting minutes — 2026-02-26 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-26 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-26 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable.

2026-02-24 · Resolution9; CAO 2026-11

Council asks other municipalities to change safety-plan terminology

Carried

Consequence: Requested replacement of “priority groups” with “groups of particular concern” in the joint 2026–2030 plan. This records the February request, not later adoption of a local plan.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes — 2026-02-24 Selected resolutions; exact page in each decision

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-24 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-24 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified · Downloaded official PDF. Scanned document OCR performed; cited financial table and recorded vote pages visually checked where applicable.

2026-02-10 · Resolution21

Council chamber staff desks funded from reserve

Carried

$9,750 · authorization before non-refundable HST

Consequence: August budget line is $9,750 and actual $9,921.60; authorization also allows non-refundable HST, so apparent $171.60 variance cannot be labelled unauthorized overrun.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes 02/10 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-10 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-10 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

2026-02-10 · Resolution12

Chant Drain Improvement2025 construction award

Carried

$130,275 · tendered construction award amount

Consequence: Drainage assessments and overall engineering cost are distinct from the Township tax-funded share.

Open the source record
  1. Council minutes 02/10 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-02-10 · Event/reporting date 2026-02-10 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

2026-01-13 · Resolution25; By-law02-2026

2026 capital budget adopted

Carried

$4,806,500 · new annual project allocations

Consequence: Separate capital levy funds reserves and debt service. PA system, doors and boilers require supplemental reports before starting.

2 source records
  1. Council minutes 01/13 relevant resolution noted in connected record

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-01-13 · Event/reporting date 2026-01-13 · 2026

    adopted minutes · Primary record verified

  2. 2026 Ten Year Capital Budget and Forecast — Schedule A to By-law 02-2026 PDF pages 2–26 (printed pages 1–25)

    Township of Norwich · Published 2026-01-13 · Event/reporting date 2026-01-13 · 2026; forecast 2027–2035

    adopted By-law 02-2026 · Primary record verified · Some internal headings say Proposed; adoption confirmed in January 13 minutes. 2027–2035 are forecasts, not current-year authorizations.

1Proposed2Authorized3Funded4Underway5Delivered6Outcome measured

These are distinct stages, not an automatic progress bar. Not every project follows the same sequence.

Explore the project map
N ↑TillsonburgTillsonburgSouth-West OxfordSouth-West OxfordBlandford-BlenheimBlandford–BlenheimIngersollIngersollEast Zorra-TavistockE. Zorra–TavistockZorraZorraNorwich TownshipNorwichWoodstockWoodstock1Main Street West, Norwich — Representative point on Main Street West; identifies the downtown discussion area, not the extent of a parking study or an individual parking lot.
  1. Main Street West, Norwich
Municipal boundaries · Ontario LIO · Open Government Licence – Ontario. Simplified for display; village names are not ward boundaries. Reference points © OpenStreetMap contributors. Pins locate the discussion, not a project footprint.

Published commitments from verified participants

No commitments submitted through verified profiles yet.

The original Norwich decision record

What happened after they said it?

Promises, decisions and results — with the source for each step.

Lacey Hird

campaign proposal · Sep 9, 2026

Open park washrooms during the day

Lacey Hird
Stated proposal

Favours opening existing park washrooms during daytime and increasing visible oversight to discourage vandalism.

Can they do this alone?
Norwich Council can set facility service levels and budgets; Township staff operate and maintain facilities.
Action
Open washrooms until dark.
Timing / cost
Not specified in reviewed statement / Not specified in reviewed statement

A public statement is documented. No election victory, individual control, future funding or delivery is implied.

Which washrooms would open, on what hours, at what operating cost?

Measure to seek: Published opening hours by park, actual availability and operating cost.

Displayed captions reviewed; audio not independently checked. Her description of available facilities and existing closures is not an independently verified inventory.

Karl Toews

public commitment · Sep 10, 2026

Request recorded votes on consequential decisions

Karl Toews
Stated proposal

Favours recorded votes on consequential decisions so residents can see individual councillors’ choices in future.

Can they do this alone?
An individual councillor can request recorded votes through the applicable meeting procedure; the council clerk maintains official minutes.
Action
Request recorded votes where warranted.
Timing / cost
Not specified in reviewed statement / Not specified in reviewed statement

A public statement is documented. No election victory, individual control, future funding or delivery is implied.

Which decisions will you request recorded votes on, and where can residents follow your requests?

Measure to seek: Recorded-vote requests and resulting published voting records; do not invent a count without minutes.

Displayed captions reviewed; audio not independently checked. This summarizes his rationale; it does not independently verify the number of recorded votes he requested.

Who’s actually in charge?
01

Norwich council

Municipal services, local roads, recreation, zoning and the local budget.

Explore this level →
02

Oxford County

County roads, water and wastewater, housing services, paramedics and County planning.

Explore this level →

Meet your representatives