The 2024 transportation model projected a $15,539,019 deficit over 2024–2033. It is a historical scenario, not current debt or an annual deficit.
2024 Asset Management Plan · Transportation funding modelRoads & infrastructure
The road plan changed. Show the consequences.
Road promises need to survive contact with a project list.
Open public question
Want this answered?
Answers & question historyCandidate or official? Explain your position →
Firehall Road conversion cancelled
Resolution 22 cancels the 2025 project. The March staff explanation connects its earlier design to a policy mismatch; the replacement decision and final financial effects still need tracking.
Council minutes · April 14, 2026 · Resolutions 22 and 24Who has explained their position?
Compare in depth| Person / office | Public record on this issue | Question status | Next step |
|---|---|---|---|
Jim PalmerMayor · Norwich | No public answer foundOn this issue: Highlights gravel-road surfacing and the difficulty of funding asset maintenance as replacement costs rise. | No contact recorded | Read evidence Answer or clarify |
Adrian CouwenbergMayor · Norwich | No public answer foundOn this issue: Points to the road-conversion program as progress on gravel-road maintenance concerns that drew him into council. | No contact recorded | Read evidence Answer or clarify |
Lynne DePlanckeWard 2 · Norwich | No public answer foundOn this issue: Supports continuing gravel-road paving and traffic calming in areas where speeding is a concern. | No contact recorded | Read evidence Answer or clarify |
Shawn GearWard 3 · Norwich | No public answer foundOn this issue: Identifies deteriorating roads and infrastructure improvements as needs accompanying population growth in Norwich Township. | No contact recorded | Read evidence Answer or clarify |
Karl ToewsWard 4 · Norwich | No public answer foundOn this issue: Supports road hard-surfacing but would consider delaying it to preserve essential services without a large tax increase. | No contact recorded | Read evidence Answer or clarify |
Marius KerkhoffWard 1 · Norwich | No public answer foundOn this issue: Prioritizes preventative maintenance of roads, bridges, drainage, parks and public facilities to avoid costlier repairs. | No contact recorded | Read evidence Answer or clarify |
Roy KingWard 1 · Norwich | No public answer found | No contact recorded | Open question Answer or clarify |
Tim ThompsonWard 2 · Norwich | No public answer found | No contact recorded | Open question Answer or clarify |
Lacey HirdWard 4 · Norwich | No public answer found | No contact recorded | Open question Answer or clarify |
What the evidence establishes
July 8 Resolution 27 requested lifecycle-based asset and ten-year road plans; the recorded vote was 4–1, with Couwenberg nay and DePlancke, Gear, Palmer and Toews yea.
Council minutes · July 8, 2025 · Resolutions 27–28April 14 Resolution 22 cancelled the 2025 Firehall Road Gravel Conversion capital project, listed at $345,000. The minutes do not establish completed construction or a reason for cancellation.
Council minutes · April 14, 2026 · Resolutions 22 and 24March Resolution 6 authorizes Beaconsfield and Substation gravel conversions and requests later costing after test holes and cost-sharing negotiations. Staff attributed the Firehall issue to a mismatch with the new conversion policy.
Council minutes · March 24, 2026 · Resolution 6; date caveat in recordThe choices on the table
These are editorial alternatives to test, not attributed candidate promises.
How we got here
- Proposal
Historical funding model published
Scenario across 2024–2033; later policies and budgets may change it.
2024 Asset Management Plan · Transportation funding model - Direction
Revised planning direction carried 4–1
This was a vote on a specific direction, not a general measure of support for road improvement.
Council minutes · July 8, 2025 · Resolutions 27–28 - Funded
Capital budget baseline
Approved budget authority is distinct from contract award and completion.
2026 capital budget · Schedule A to By-law 02-2026 - Approval
Two conversion projects authorized
Beaconsfield and Substation projects were authorized; cost-sharing and a subsequent costing/construction report remained to follow. Zenda Line was directed into the draft 2027 budget, not approved as completed work.
Council minutes · March 24, 2026 · Resolution 6; date caveat in record - Approval
Firehall Road conversion cancelled
Resolution 22 cancels the 2025 project. The March staff explanation connects its earlier design to a policy mismatch; the replacement decision and final financial effects still need tracking.
Council minutes · April 14, 2026 · Resolutions 22 and 24
Questions that still deserve an explanation
- What subsequent report fulfilled the July 2025 direction, and which assumptions changed?
- What replacement approach follows the Firehall cancellation, and how will the revised policy affect cost and priority?
- Which road segments will be delivered, to what standard, at what cost—and what is being deferred?
Sources and corrections
- 2024 Asset Management Plan · Transportation funding model 2024
- Council minutes · July 8, 2025 · Resolutions 27–28 Jul 8, 2025
- 2026 capital budget · Schedule A to By-law 02-2026 2026
- Council minutes · April 14, 2026 · Resolutions 22 and 24 Apr 14, 2026
- Norwich roads · Township and County responsibility
- Council minutes · March 24, 2026 · Resolution 6; date caveat in record Mar 24, 2026
Reviewed Oct 1, 2026. Original records may describe earlier events.
Submit a correction or newer sourceFollow this issue into the money
The money connected to this issue
Substation Road (027) Grvl Conv. - Per OP 2026-12 (Budget Ammend.)
Revised project budget$1,026,100norwich · source accounting basis; not specified on interim summaryBeaconsfield Rd. (033A) Grvl Conv. - Per OP 2026-12 (Budget Ammend.)
Revised project budget$771,000norwich · source accounting basis; not specified on interim summarySeparate records and funding scopes; amounts are not added together.
Project and budget details (2)
Norwich · Roads & bridges
Substation Road Grvl Conv.
Substation Road (027) Grvl Conv. - Per OP 2026-12 (Budget Ammend.)
Norwich
Contract awarded · completion unconfirmed- Revised budget
- $1,026,100
- Named suppliers
- South Brant Excavating Inc.; Walker Construction Limited
- Next target
- No next date listed
- Latest update
- 2026-08-31 · Financial reporting cutoff
Norwich · Roads & bridges
Beaconsfield Rd. Grvl Conv.
Beaconsfield Rd. (033A) Grvl Conv. - Per OP 2026-12 (Budget Ammend.)
Norwich
Contract awarded · completion unconfirmed- Revised budget
- $771,000
- Named suppliers
- South Brant Excavating Inc.; Walker Construction Limited
- Next target
- No next date listed
- Latest update
- 2026-08-31 · Financial reporting cutoff
Who’s actually in charge?
Norwich council
Municipal services, local roads, recreation, zoning and the local budget.
Explore this level →Oxford County
County roads, water and wastewater, housing services, paramedics and County planning.
Explore this level →Ontario
Health and education systems, provincial legislation and funding decisions.
Explore this level →Canada
Federal taxation, immigration, trade, criminal law and national programs.
Explore this level →







